Vela returns as Mexico reveals team for friendlies

Carlos Vela, shown above after scoring in the 2009 CONCACAF Gold Cup final against the USA, was called up for Mexico's November 2014 friendlies in Europe. (Photo: Mexsport)

MEXICO CITY – Mexico announced Wednesday that it has called up 22 players for international friendlies on the road against the Netherlands and Belarus on November 12 and November 18, respectively.

The roster is highlighted by the return of Real Sociedad’s Carlos Vela, who may earn his first cap in more than three years.  The 25-year-old attacker won the 2005 FIFA U-17 World Cup and the 2009 CONCACAF Gold Cup with Mexico, but has not played for the Tricolor since a 1-1 draw against Venezuela on March 29, 2011.

Giovani Dos Santos will look to make it two goals in as many games against the Dutch as he tries to repeat his performance against the European power in a rematch of their memorable 2014 FIFA World Cup round of 16 encounter.  The Villarreal star opened the scoring in the 48th minute on June 29 in Fortlaleza, Brazil, before Wesley Sneijder and Klaas-Jan Huntelaar struck late to oust the Tricolor.

Mexico has won three straight games and is unbeaten in its last four, posting shutouts in each of those outings.


(International friendlies: November 12, 2014, away v Netherlands; November 18, 2014, away v Belarus)


GOALKEEPERS: Guillermo Ochoa (Málaga/Spain), Alfredo Talavera (Toluca)

DEFENDERS: Paúl Aguilar (Club América), Oswaldo Alanís Pantoja (Santos), Adrián Aldrete (Santos), George Corral (Querétaro), Julio César Domínguez (Cruz Azul), Miguel Ángel Herrera (Pachuca), Enrique Pérez (Atlas), Miguel Ponce (Toluca), Diego Reyes (Porto/Portugal), Luis Gerardo Venegas (Atlas)

MIDFIELDERS: Jesús Corona (FC Twente/Netherlands), Jonathan Dos Santos (Villarreal), Andrés Guardado (PSV Eindhoven/Netherlands), Héctor Herrera (Porto/Portugal), José Juan Vázquez (León)

FORWARDS: Giovani Dos Santos (Villarreal/Spain), Arturo Alfonso González (Atlas), Javier Hernández (Real Madrid/Spain), Raúl Jiménez (Atlético Madrid/Spain), Carlos Vela (Real Sociedad/Spain)