Trinidad takes 19-player squad to Curacao

Trinidad & Tobago (pictured) trains at Hasely Crawford Stadium in Port of Spain, before heading to Curacao for an international friendly on June 5, 2015. (Photo courtesy of the Trinidad & Tobago Football Association)

PORT OF SPAIN, Trinidad & Tobago -- Trinidad & Tobago will travel with a 19-man squad for Friday’s international friendly against host Curacao at the Stadion Ergilio Hato in Willemstad.

Both sides are using the game as preparation for two different competitions.  The Trinidadians are looking ahead to July’s CONCACAF Gold Cup, while Curacao will face Cuba in the second round of qualifying in CONCACAF for the 2018 FIFA World Cup on June 10 (home) and 14 (away).

Stephen Hart, Trinidad’s head coach, selected a mixture of experience and youth in crafting his roster.  Veteran Kenwyne Jones, 30, could potentially be paired on the forward line with 19-year-old Kadeem Corbin, who scored five goals in the 2014 Caribbean Football Union Under-20 Championship (including two against Curacao) and two in the 2015 CONCACAF Under-20 Championship.

“This game is another step in our preparation for the Gold Cup,” Jones told TTFA Media.  “We don’t expect it to be easy by any means.  Curacao have proven to be a formidable opposition and they are obviously in preparation for their World Cup qualifier and will be looking to do well in this match.”

Trinidad and Curacao last met in the final round of the 2014 Caribbean Cup.  Jones scored twice in a 3-2 victory.

“They were a decent side and we expect them to be up for the match at home,” the Cardiff City striker commented.  “For us, it‘s just about taking everything in stride ahead of the Gold Cup.  We have quite a few of the overseas players missing, but the squad now has a lot of experience and some good young talent in it so hopefully we can come together and give a good account.”


(International friendly: away v Curacao, June 5, 2015)

GOALKEEPERS: Jan-Michael Williams (Central FC), Marvin Phillip (Point Fortin Civic)

DEFENDERS: Eljiah Belgrave (Police FC), Daneil Cyrus (DirecTV W Connection), Kaydion Gabriel (Central FC), Shannon Gomez (DirecTV W Connection), Mekeil Williams (DirecTV W Connection)

MIDFIELDERS: Andre Boucaud (Dagenham & Redbridge/England), Kadeem Corbin (St Ann’s Rangers), Sean De Silva (Central FC), Keron Cummings (North East Stars), Ataullah Guerra (Central FC), Khaleem Hyland (Genk/Belgium), Dwane James (North East Stars), Leston Paul (Central FC)

FORWARDS: Kenwyne Jones (Cardiff City/Wales), Devorn Jorsling (Defence Force), Willis Plaza (Central FC), Shahdon Winchester (DirecTV W Connection)