Three share Golden Boot award

CHICAGO – Three players – two from the United States and one from Panama -- entered the Gold Cup final on Sunday as the tournament’s joint-scoring leaders.  Once the match ended 1-0 in favor of the Americans, the top of the goals table did not change.

Thus, Landon Donovan, Chris Wondolowski (both of the U.S.) and Gabriel Torres (Panama) finished as the top scorers with five goals each and will share the award. 

It is the third time that Donovan has split top scoring honors.  In 2003, he and Costa Rica’s Walter Centeno led the way with four goals each.  Two years later, he finished level at three goals with DaMarcus Beasley (United States), Carlos Ruiz (Guatemala), Luis Tejada (Panama) and Wilmer Velasquez (Honduras).



Previous Top Scorers


1991 – Benjamin Galindo, Mexico (4)

1993 – Luis Roberto Alves, Mexico (11)

1996 – Eric Wynalda, USA (4)

1998 – Luis Hernández, Mexico; Paulo Wanchope, Costa Rica (4)

2000 – Carlo Corazzin, Canada (4)

2002 – Brian McBride, USA (4)

2003 – Walter Centeno, Costa Rica; Landon Donovan, USA (4)

2005 – DaMarcus Beasley, USA; Landon Donovan, USA; Carlos Ruiz, Guatemala; Luis Tejada, Panama; Wilmer Velasquez, Honduras (3)

2007 – Carlos Pavon, Honduras (5)

2009 – Miguel Sabah, Mexico (4)

2011 – Javier Hernandez, Mexico (7)