Honduras names roster for trio of friendlies

Andy Najar (white jersey) was named to Honduras' roster for friendlies in May and June.

TEGUCIGALPA, Honduras – Honduras head coach Jorge Luis Pinto has named a 24-player roster for three upcoming friendlies, the Federación Nacional Autónoma de Fútbol de Honduras announced Friday.

The selection contains a mixture of foreign-based players and those enjoying a standout season in the 2015 Honduran Clausura, which is nearing its conclusion.  

It features Anderlecht midfielder Andy Najar, 22, whose two-goal performance in the second leg of the CONCACAF Gold Cup qualifying playoff against French Guiana gave the Catrachos to a 3-0 victory and a place in the continental tournament, 4-3 on aggregate. 

The domestic league’s top three scorers for the 2014/15 season – Antony Lozano (19 goals, Olimpia), Rubilio Castillo (18, Motagua) and Erick Andino (13, Victoria) -- were all extended invitations. 

Also earning a call-up was 24-year-old forward Eddie Hernandez, the top scorer in the 2014 Central American & Caribbean Games with six goals.

Prior to July’s Gold Cup, Honduras will face El Salvador (May 31 in Washington, D.C.), before away games against Paraguay (June 6 in Asuncion) and Brazil (June 10 in Porto Alegre).


(International friendlies: May 31, 2015, neutral v El Salvador; June 6, 2015, away v Paraguay; June 10, 2015, away v Brazil)

GOALKEEPERS: Donis Escober (Olimpia), Luis Lopez (Real España), Noel Valladares (Olimpia) 

DEFENDERS: Brayan Beckeles (Boavista/Portugal), Wilmer Crisanto (Motagua), Henry Figueroa (Motagua), Maynor Figueroa (Hull City/England), Emilio Izaguirre (Celtic), Jhony Leveron (Marathon), Brayan Mejia (Vida), Johnny Palacios (Olimpia)

MIDFIELDERS: Brayan Acosta (Real España), Carlos Discua (Motagua), Oscar Boniek Garcia (Houston Dynamo/USA), Luis Garrido (Houston Dynamo/USA), Mario Martinez (Real España), Carlos Will Mejia (Olimpia), Alfredo Mejia (Panthrakikos/Greece), Andy Najar (Anderlecht/Belgium), Arnold Peralta (Olimpia) 

FORWARDS: Erick Andino (Victoria), Rubilio Castillo (Motagua), Eddie Hernandez (Correcaminos/Mexico), Antony Lozano (Olimpia)