Guyana names 22-player squad for Suriname friendly

Guyana, shown above in a 2015 training session, will host Suriname in an international friendly on February 21, 2016, in Providence.

GEORGETOWN, Guyana – Guyana head coach Jamaal Shabazz has named an entirely domestic-based roster for Sunday’s international friendly against visiting Suriname at the Guyana National Stadium in Providence.

Among those in the 22-player squad to earn an invitation are Slingerz FC winger Trayon Bobb, who made his debut for the Elite League Genesis champion in its 1-0 win over Pele last Friday, Slingerz FC midfielder Tichard Joseph and Alpha United midfielder Dwight Peters.

"We have opened the door to everyone again,” said Shabazz.  “It's a new administration and a new start to the program.  We have standards and we want everyone to be the best they can be for Guyana.”

Veteran forward Gregory Richardson (33), who has been part of three different World Cup Qualifying campaigns, also merited selection.

"We want to focus on the local based for this game and test the work of the clubs in the Elite League,” Shabazz commented.  “These lads are getting first bite of the cherry, but places on this squad are going to be very difficult going forward.”

With Caribbean Cup play slated to start in March, the opportunity to play rival Suriname in a warm-up match was one that Shabazz did not want to miss.

"We have a thing with Suriname and it's exciting to have them as our first opponent after a long layoff,” he finished.  “The fans should be in for a very exciting game.”


GOALKEEPERS: Jason Cromwell (Buxton United), Alex Martin (Alpha United)

DEFENDERS: Quincy Adams (Slingerz FC), King Solomon Austin (Alpha United), Joshua Brown (Alpha United), Les Charles (Slingerz FC), Kester Jacobs (Slingerz FC), Trevon Lythcott (Fruta Conquerors), Linden Pickett (GFC)

MIDFIELDERS:  Eon Alleyne (Fruta Conquerors), , Trayon Bobb (Slingerz FC), Travis Grant (Pele), Tichard Joseph, (Slingerz FC), Dwayne Lindie (Fruta Conquerors), Konata Mannings (Pele), Devon Millington (Slingerz FC), Colin Nelson (Alpha United), Dwight Peters (Alpha United)

FORWARDS: Dellon Lanferman (Alpha United), Vurlon Mills (Slingerz FC), Gregory Richardson (Pele), Daniel Wilson (Alpha United).