Curacao edges Jamaica for first-ever Caribbean Cup title
Curacao players and staff (pictured) celebrate after defeating Jamaica in the Scotiabank CFU Men’s Caribbean Cup final on June 25, 2017, in Fort-de-France, Martinique.

FORT-DE-FRANCE, Martinique – Elson Hooi scored two goals and Curacao captured its first-ever Scotiabank CFU Men’s Caribbean Cup title with 2-1 win over defending champion Jamaica in the 2016/17 final on Sunday night at the Stade Pierre-Aliker.

Curacao became just the sixth different nation to lift the trophy in the 18 times one was on offer. takes a look at the action:


June 25, 2017: Stade Pierre-Aliker – Fort-de-France, Martinique (Att: 5,200)
Jamaica-Curacao 1-2 (0-1)
Rosario Harriott 82’ / Elson Hooi 10’, 84’
Curacao wins 2016/17 Scotiabank CFU Men’s Caribbean Cup title

Jamaica: Dwayne Miller; Damion Lowe, Oniel Fisher, Sergio Campbell, Shaun Francis (Rosario Harriott 82’), Ewan Grandison, Michael Binns, Jermaine Johnson (Ricardo Morris 61’), Kevon Lambert, Cory Burke (Shamar Nicholson 72’), Owayne Gordon. Head Coach: Theodore Whitmore (suspended, replaced by Jerome Waite)

Curacao: Eloy Room; Dustley Mulder, Rhu-endly “Cuco” Martina, Darryl Lachman, Gillian Justiana, Quentin Jakoba, Leandro Bacuna, Jarchino Antonia (Gino van Kessel 74’), Elson Hooi (Doriano Kortstam (0’+2), Gevaro Nepomuceno, Rangelo Janga. Head Coach: Remko Bicentini

R: Michel Rodriguez (Cuba); AR1: Raidel Toledo (Cuba); AR2: Eugene Farro (Aruba)); 4th: Ricangel De Leca (Aruba)

-    Elson Hooi gave Curacao a 1-0 lead in the 10th minute, when his slowly rolling, right-footed shot from the top of the 18-yard box managed to elude for Jamaican defenders stationed in close proximity, as well as goalkeeper Dwayne Miller.
-    Jamaica equalized in the 82nd minute as substitute Rosario Harriott swooped in at the left post after Shamar Nicholson’s downward header took a strange bounce off Michael Binns’ initial free kick.
-    Two minutes later, Hooi netted the game-winner, slotting in with his right foot from 11-yards out.  Gino van Kessel assisted on the goal, navigating to the right-end line, before feeding Hooi.
-    Six-time champion Jamaica made its ninth appearance in the Caribbean Cup final.
-    Curacao made its first appearance in the Caribbean Cup final.
-    Jamaica completed 2016/17 Caribbean Cup play with an overall record of 2W-1D-1L (7GF, 5 GA).
-    Jamaica scored at least one goal in each of its four 2016/17 Caribbean Cup games.
-    Curacao completed 2016/17 Caribbean Cup play with an overall record of 7W-0D-1L (25GF, 8 GA).
-    Curacao teammates Gino van Kessel and Feliticiano Zschusschen finished as the 2016/17 Caribbean Cup’s joint-top scorers with seven goals each.
-    Six different players scored for Curacao in the 2016/17 Caribbean Cup, each netting at least two goals.
-    Both Curacao and Jamaica will compete in the 2017 CONCACAF Gold Cup.

List of Champions

1989: Trinidad & Tobago
1990: tournament not completed
1991: Jamaica
1992: Trinidad & Tobago
1993: Martinique
1994: Trinidad & Tobago
1995: Trinidad & Tobago
1996: Trinidad & Tobago
1997: Trinidad & Tobago
1998: Jamaica
1999: Trinidad & Tobago
2001: Trinidad & Tobago
2005: Jamaica
2007: Haiti
2008: Jamaica
2010: Jamaica
2012: Cuba
2014: Jamaica
2016/17: Curacao