Costa Rica names roster for Asia friendlies

Alvaro Saborio (white jersey) was called up to Costa Rica for a pair of October friendlies in Asia. (Photo: Mexsport)

SAN JOSE, Costa Rica – Costa Rica head coach Paulo Cesar Wanchope unveiled Wednesday the names of 21 players selected for international friendlies at Oman and Korea Republic on October 10 and October 14, respectively.

The squad is comprised of 17 foreign-based competitors, including Real Salt Lake forward Alvaro Saborio and Everton defender Bryan Oviedo, both of whom recently returned from injury layoffs.  Saborio is coming back after breaking the fifth metatarsal in his right foot training with the national team at the end of May, while Oviedo has resumed playing after suffering a broken left leg in January.

Another defender, Felicio Brown, is a new face in the side.  The 23-year-old, who plays with Ufa in Russia, represented Germany at the youth level, but has never been called up to its senior team.

"In regard to Felicio, we have been tracking him,” said Wanchope.  “We knew that in youth divisions he had some opportunities to play with Germany, but now we have the possibility of having him in the national team.”

By winning last month’s Central American Cup, Costa Rica qualified for the 2015 CONCACAF Gold Cup and the 2016 Centennial Cup America.

(International friendlies: October 10, 2014, at Oman; October 14, 2014, at Korea Republic)

GOALKEEPERS: Esteban Alvarado (AZ Alkmaar/Netherlands), Keylor Navas (Real Madrid/Spain)

DEFENDERS: Felicio Brown (Ufa/Russia), Junior Díaz (Mainz 05/Germany), Oscar Duarte (Club Brugge/Belgium), Cristian Gamboa (West Bromwich Albion/England), Roy Miller (New York Red Bulls/USA), Bryan Oviedo (Everton/England), Pablo Salazar (Herediano), Michael Umaña (Persepolis/Iran)

MIDFIELDERS: Celso Borges (AIK/Sweden), Juan Bustos Golobio (Saprissa), José Miguel Cubero (Blackpool/England), Yeltsin Tejeda (Évian/France), Johan Venegas (Alajuelense)

FORWARDS: Joel Campbell (Arsenal/England), Mayron George (OFI Crete/Greece), David Ramírez (Saprissa), Bryan Ruiz (Fulham/England), John Jairo Ruiz (Oostende/Belgium), Álvaro Saborio (Real Salt Lake/USA)