Costa Rica announces squad for Uruguay rematch

Oscar Duarte (#8) will get a chance to score a second goal against Uruguay this year, when Costa Rica meets the South American power on November 13, 2014, in Montevideo. (Photo: FIFA via Getty Images)

SAN JOSE, Costa Rica – Bidding to duplicate a victorious performance against Uruguay at Brazil 2014, Costa Rica has called up 13 players from its FIFA World Cup roster for a November 13 rematch at the South American power. 

Interim head coach Paulo Wanchope announced Friday that he will travel to Montevideo with 21players for the 10th all-time encounter between the sides. 

The squad is highlighted by the inclusion of standout goalkeeper Keylor Navas, who joined current European champion Real Madrid from fellow Spanish club Levante in August. 

Oscar Duarte and Joel Campbell -- two of the three players who scored in the 3-1 victory over the Uruguayans -- also merited selection. 

In addition to tested veterans, Wanchope extended invitations to a pair of rising stars: 18-year-old goalkeeper Jorge Jara of Saprissa and Alajuelense’s 20-year-old midfielder Luis Sequeira. 

"It's a group that has a base of work and that we know we will give a very good presentation,” said Wanchope.  “Neither team wants to lose, which ensures a good game.  It's a good way to close the year well.” 

In 2014, Costa Rica reached the World Cup quarterfinals and won the Central American Cup to qualify for next year’s CONCACAF Gold Cup and the 2016 Centennial Cup America.  


(International friendly: November 13, 2014, away v Uruguay)

GOALKEEPERS: Jorge Jara (Saprissa), Keylor Navas (Real Madrid/Spain), Patrick Pemberton (Alajuelense/Costa Rica) 

DEFENDERS: Junior Diaz (Mainz/Germany), Oscar Duarte (Club Brugge/Belgium), Waylon Francis (Columbus Crew/USA), Cristian Gamboa (West Bromwich/England), Giancarlo González (Palermo/Italy), Roy Miller (New York Red Bulls), Dave Myrie (Herediano/Costa Rica) 

MIDFIELDERS: Celso Borges (AIK/Sweden), Juan Bustos Golobio (Saprissa), Bryan Ruiz (Fulham/England), Luis Sequeira (Alajuelense), Yeltsin Tejeda (Evian/France), Johan Venegas (Alajuelense) 

FORWARDS: Joel Campbell (Arsenal/England), Myron George (OFI Crete/Greece), David Ramírez (Saprissa), John Jairo Ruiz (KV Oostende/Belgium), Álvaro Saborio (Real Salt Lake/USA)