Canada invites 23 players to camp, Panama friendly

Midfielder Russell Teibert (pictured) has seven caps for Canada. (Photo courtesy of Canada Soccer)

OTTAWA – Canada head coach Benito Floro on Thursday named a 23-player roster for a camp that starts Sunday in Orlando, Florida, and culminates on November 18 with a friendly at Panama.

It will be the Canadians’ fifth match of 2014 and second against a CONCACAF rival after topping Jamaica 3-1 on September 9.

“It’s another important game for us because we need to continue improving our tactical play and we are going to play against a very good team that has an experienced coach,” said Floro of Panama, which is led by head coach Hernan Dario Gomez.  “It’s a very good, organized team on the pitch with a good tactical sense both in attack and defense.”

Canada’s only loss this year came last month, 1-0, to 2014 World Cup participant Colombia – ranked third by FIFA -- in Harrison, New Jersey, USA.

The North Americans are unbeaten in seven of eight all-time encounters against Panama, including a 0-0 draw in their last meeting at the 2013 CONCACAF Gold Cup.

This will be only third time that they’ve squared off in Panama.

“We are going to play away in their stadium (Estadio Rommel Fernandez) against another good team but it’s good for us because we need to test our level in these situations,” Floro commented.  “We need to focus on continuing improving our pressing and to increase our attack because in the last game (against Colombia), our attack was not as good as we can do.”

(International friendly: November 18, 2014, away v Panama)

GOALKEEPERS: Milan Borjan (Ludogorets Razgrad/Bulgaria), Lars Hirschfeld (Valerenga/Norway), Kenny Stamatopoulos (AIK/Sweden)

DEFENDERS: Nana Attakora (D.C. United/USA), David Edgar (Birmingham City/England), Doneil Henry (Toronto FC), Nik Ledgerwood (Energie Cottbus), Ashtone Morgan (Toronto FC), Karl W. Ouimette (Impact de Montréal), Maxim Tissot (Impact de Montréal)

MIDFIELDERS: Bryce Alderson (Vancouver Whitecaps FC), Kyle Bekker (Toronto FC), Patrice Bernier (Impact de Montréal), Julian de Guzman (no club), Atiba Hutchinson (Besiktas/Turkey), Issey Nakajima-Farran (Impact de Montréal), Jonathan Osorio (Toronto FC), Adam Straith (no club), Daniel Stanese (FC Augsburg II), Russell Teibert (Vancouver Whitecaps FC)

FORWARDS: Dwayne De Rosario (Toronto FC), Marcus Haber (Crewe Alexandra/England), Tosaint Ricketts (Hapoel Haifa/Israel)