2015 CONCACAF Gold Cup: 11 in, one to go

The USA (pictured) celebrates after defeating Panama in the 2013 CONCACAF Gold Cup final at Soldier Field in Chicago, Illinois. (Photo: Mexsport)

 MONTEGO BAY, Jamaica – After Jamaica and Haiti have confirmed their presence Sunday in next year’s CONCACAF Gold Cup by virtue of finishing first and second, respectively, in Group B at the Caribbean Cup finals, 11 of the 12 participants are now known.

The last coveted berth will be decided in a two-legged playoff between French Guiana and Honduras on dates yet to be determined.

Here’s a look at the qualifiers (number of previous appearances in parentheses):

Canada (11), automatic North American entrant
Mexico (12), automatic North American entrant
United States (12), automatic North American entrant 

Costa Rica (11), 2014 Central American Cup – champion
El Salvador (8), 2014 Central American Cup – fourth place
Guatemala (9), 2014 Central American Cup – runner-up
Panama (6), 2014 Central American Cup – third place 

Cuba (7), 2014 Caribbean Cup – Final Round, Group A runner-up
Jamaica (8), 2014 Caribbean Cup – Final Round, Group B winner
Haiti (5), 2014 Caribbean Cup – Final Round, Group B runner-up
Trinidad & Tobago (8), 2014 Caribbean Cup – Final Round, Group A winner

The Gold Cup has been contested on 12 previous occasions with Mexico winning a record six titles.  The defending champion has lifted the trophy on five occasions, while Canada is the only nation to claim the biennial championship.