About Gold Cup

The CONCACAF Gold Cup is the confederation’s premier event for national teams, crowning a champion every two years.

Initially involving eight teams, the Gold Cup has developed into a competition of 12 nations, which qualify from each of CONCACAF’s three sub-regions: North America (3 automatic entrants), Central America (4.5 qualifiers through the Copa Centroamericana) and the Caribbean (4.5 qualifiers through the Scotiabank CFU Men’s Caribbean Cup).

It has reached exceptional levels of popularity as evidenced by capacity crowds and a global TV audiences of millions.

The Gold Cup has been contested on 13 previous occasions. Mexico owns a tournament-record seven titles, followed by the United States with five and Canada with one.

The U.S. captured the inaugural championship in 1991, outlasting Honduras in the final 4-3 on penalty kicks after a scoreless draw. That year, the entire tournament took place in two Southern California venues - the Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum and the Rose Bowl.

As evidence of its stunning growth, in 2015, the Gold Cup was played in 14 state-of-the-art stadiums across the entire United States. Jamaica became the first Caribbean representative to reach the final, ultimately falling to Mexico, 3-1. Total tournament attendance exceeded 1 million, while the final drew an impressive 2.3 rating and 5.7 million viewers on Univision and Univision Deportes Network in the USA.

Later in 2015, the Mexicans defeated 2013 champion USA in the CONCACAF Cup, 3-2 after extra time, to qualify for the 2017 FIFA Confederations Cup. It was the first time that Gold Cup champions within the same four-cycle met to determine which would participate in the traditional World Cup rehearsal. The match was played at the Rose Bowl in Pasadena, California, and attracted a capacity crowd of 93,273 fans.

(final summary, tournament best player and top scorer)

July 7, 1991: Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum -- Los Angeles, California, USA (A: 39,873)
USA–Honduras 0-0, 4:3 pens (0-0)

Best Player: Tony Meola, USA
Top Scorer: Benjamin Galindo, Mexico (4 goals)

July 25, 1993: Estadio Azteca -- Mexico City, Mexico (A: 130,800)
Mexico-USA 4-0 (2-0)
Ignacio Ambriz 12’; own-goal 31’ (Desmond Armstrong); Luis Roberto Alves 71’; Guillermo Cantu 80’

Best Player: Ramon Ramirez, Mexico
Top Scorer: Luis Roberto Alves, Mexico (11 goals)

January 21, 1996: Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum -- Los Angeles, California, USA (A: 88,155)
Mexico-Brazil 2-0 (0-0)
Luis Garcia 54’; Cuauhtemoc Blanco 75’

Best Player: Raul Rodrigo Lara, Mexico
Top Scorer: Eric Wynalda, USA (4 goals)

February 15, 1998: Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum -- Los Angeles, California, USA (A: 91,255)
USA-Mexico 0-1 (0-1)
Luis Hernandez 43’

Best Player: Kasey Keller, USA
Top Scorer: Luis Hernandez, Mexico (4 goals)

February 27, 2000: Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum -- Los Angeles, California, USA (A: 7,000)
Canada-Colombia 2-0 (1-0)
Jason DeVos 45’; Carlo Corrazin 68’ pen

Best Player: Craig Forrest, Canada
Top Scorer: Carlo Corazzin, Canada (4 goals)

February 2, 2002: Rose Bowl -- Pasadena, California, USA (A: 14,432)
USA-Costa Rica 2-0 (1-0)
Josh Wolff 37’; Jeff Agoos 63’

Best Player: Brian McBride, USA
Top Scorer: Brian McBride, USA (4 goals)

July 23, 2003: Estadio Azteca -- Mexico City, Mexico (A: 80,000)
Brazil-Mexico 0-1 aet (0-0)
Daniel Osorno 97’

Best Player: Jesus Arellano, Mexico
Top Scorer: Landon Donovan, USA; Walter Centeno, Costa Rica (4 goals)

July 24, 2005: Giants Stadium -- East Rutherford, New Jersey, USA (A: 31,018)
USA-Panama 0-0, 3:1 pens (0-0)

Best Player: Luis Tejada, Panama
Top Scorer: DaMarcus Beasley, USA; Landon Donovan, USA; Carlos Ruiz, Guatemala; Luis Tejada, Panama; Wilmer Velasquez, Honduras (3 goals)

June 24, 2007: Soldier Field -- Chicago, Illinois, USA (A: 60,000)
USA-Mexico 2-1 (0-1)
Landon Donovan 62’ pen; Benny Feilhaber 72’ / Andres Guardado 44’

Best Player: Julian De Guzman, Canada
Top Scorer: Carlos Pavon, Honduras (5 goals)

July 26, 2009: Giants Stadium -- East Rutherford, New Jersey, USA (A: 79,156)
USA-Mexico 0-5 (0-0)
Gerardo Torrado 56’; Giovani Dos Santos 62’; Carlos Vela 67’; Jose Antonio Castro 79’; Guillermo Franco 90’

Best Player: Giovani Dos Santos, Mexico
Top Scorer: Miguel Sabah, Mexico (4 goals)

June 25, 2011: Rose Bowl -- Pasadena, California, USA (A: 93,420)
USA-Mexico 2-4 (2-1)
Michael Bradley 8’; Landon Donovan 23’ / Pablo Barrera 29’, 50’; Andres Guardado 36’; Giovani Dos Santos 76’

Best Player: Javier Hernandez, Mexico
Top Scorer: Javier Hernandez, Mexico (7 goals)

July 28, 2013: Soldier Field -- Chicago, Illinois, USA (A: 57,920)
USA-Panama 1-0 (0-0)
Brek Shea 69’

Best Player: Landon Donovan, USA
Top Scorer: Landon Donovan, USA; Gabriel Torres, Panama; Chris Wondolowski, USA (5 goals)

July 26, 2015: Lincoln Financial Field -- Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, USA (A: 68,930)
Jamaica-Mexico 1-3
Darren Mattocks 79’ / Andres Guardado 31’; Jesus Corona 46’; Oribe Peralta 61’

Best Player: Andres Guardado, Mexico
Top Scorer: Clint Dempsey, USA (7 goals)