Honduras topped the host Martinique 4:2 on Sunday evening at the Stade Dillon in Fort-de-France to finish first in the three-nation Interzone Playoffs that qualified two teams to the 2003 CONCACAF Gold Cup this summer.

Prior to the triangular event's final match, Honduras and Martinique had already clinched the two berths to the Gold Cup competition after both squads posted victories over the competition's third team Trinidad & Tobago last week.

Wilmer Velasquez opened the scoring for the catrachos in the 31st minute of the match for a 1:0 lead.

Despite playing the majority of the game with 10 players after Jean Luc Desprol was sent off in the 12th minute, Martinique was able to level the score (1:1) in the opening three minutes of the second half with a tally by Jose Thiery Gordon.

Honduras regained the advantage 2:1 as José Ramírez notched a goal in the 63rd minute of the match.

The host once again tied the game (2:2) with Willy Alexis Padoly scoring in the 67th minute, but Elvis Turcios (73rd) and Walter Hernández (89th) each scored in the final 17 minutes of the match for Honduras in the 4:2 victory.

The 12-team Gold Cup field are set as CONCACAF squads Canada, Costa Rica, Cuba, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Jamaica, Martinique, Mexico and USA join invited teams Brazil and Colombia in the event from 12-27 July in three venues: Foxboro, Massachusetts & Miami, Florida, USA and Mexico City.

27.04.2003: Fort-de-France, MARTINIQUE; Stade Dillon
Jose Thierry GORDON 48'; Willy Alexis PADOLY 67' - Wilmer VELASQUEZ 31'; José RAMíREZ 63'; Elvis TURCIOS 73'; Walter HERNáNDEZ 89'
MQE: Jean Francois Go - Jude Etienne Vaton, Patrick Percin, Yann Girier-Dufournier, Jean Luc Desprol, Jose Thierry Gordon, Miguel Duragrin, Ludovic Mirande, Willy Alexis Padoly, Jean Victor Lavril (80: Dominique Reyal), Laurent Lagrand. Booked: Lavril 1', Percin 2', Francois Go 72'; Sent Off: Desprol 12'
TD: Theodore ANTONIN
HON: Hector Medina - Mario Beata (Jaime Rosales), Milton Polacios, Erick Vallecillo, Sergio Mendoza, Elvis Turcios, Wilmer Velasquez (Pompilio Cacho), Rony Morales, Carlos Oliva (José Ramírez), Edgar Alvares, Walter Hernández. Booked: Polacios 9', Hernández 19', Turcios 38'
TD: Edwin PAVóN