Year: 2003

Winner: Mexico

Runner-up: Brazil

Golden Ball (best player): Jesus Arellano (MEX)

Golden Boot (leading scorer): Walter Centeno (CRC) Landon Donovan (USA)

Venues: Boston (Foxborough, Massachusetts), Mexico City, Miami

Final: Estadio Azteca

Mexico beat Brazil for a second time in the final and first since 1996, claiming its fourth and last title in the Gold Cup. Before a crowd of 80,000 at Estadio Azteca, Mexico prevailed 1-0 on Daniel Osorno's injury time goal, marking only the second Gold Cup played outside of the United States. It was Brazil's third and last appearance in the tournament as an invited guest team. The USA was within moments of beating Brazil for only the second time in history when it lead its semifinal 1-0 on a 62nd-minute goal by Carlos Bocanegra. But Kaka equalized in the 89th and a penalty by Diego with 10 minutes remaining in extra time put Brazil through. Mexico's title was its first since beating the United States 1-0 in 1998.

View Gallery

 View Statistical Archive