Year: 1998

Winner: Mexico

Runner-up: USA

Golden Ball (best player): Kasey Keller (USA)

Golden Boot (leading scorer): Luis Hernandez (MEX)

Venues: Los Angeles, Miami, Oakland

Final: Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum

Increasingly fierce rivals Mexico and the USA met in the Gold Cup final for the third time, with El Tri winning 1-0 before more than 91,000 at the Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum. It was Mexico's third consecutive CONCACAF title, improving its record in the competition to 13-1-0 since the semifinal loss to the Americans in 1991. Luis Hernandez, the competition's top scorer, tallied the winner with two minutes remaining in the first half. The triumph was redemption for manager Manuel Lapuente, who was also at the Mexican helm during the 1991 Gold Cup campaign. USA goalkeeper Kasey Keller turned in a legendary performance in a 1-0 semifinal win over South American invitee Brazil and was selected as the tournament's best player. Mexico got past Trinidad & Tobago (4-2) and Honduras (2-0) in the group stage, setting up a 1-0 win over Jamaica in the semifinals.

View Gallery

 View Statistical Archive